Prof. Vincent Maher

Irish Cardiac Society President 2020-2022

6 Oct 2020

The society is delighted to announce that Prof. Vincent Maher has been elected President of the Irish Cardiac Society for the next two years. He succeeds Prof. Jim Crowley.

Professor Maher is a Consultant Cardiologist at Tallaght University Hospital, Dublin, Clinical Professor in Trinity College Dublin and Director of Chronic Cardiovascular Disease and Cardiac Rehabilitation at Tallaght University Hospital. He was formerly Medical Director of the Irish Heart Foundation, President of the Irish Association of Cardiac Rehabilitation, President of the Irish Atherosclerosis Society, and Chairman of the Health Promoting Hospital Network in Ireland. He co-founded the Heart Watch program and developed both the Irish Heart Foundation, Physical Activity and Nutrition guidelines. His research interests involve understanding the effects of exercise, lipids and obesity on cardiovascular change.

He established first hospital based peripheral artery disease rehabilitation service and developed the first dedicated cardiovascular disease prevention clinic nationally.

Prof. Brendan McAdam has been elected Hon. Secretary and Prof. Carl Vaughan, Hon. Treasurer of the Society.

The Irish Cardiac Society Council Members for 2020 – 2022 are, Prof. Jim Crowley, Past President, Dr. Deirdre Ward, Dr. Peter McKavanagh, Dr. Carl Vaughan, Dr. Christine Hughes, Dr. Patricia Campbell, Dr. Angie Brown, Mr. Alastair Graham and Dr. Stephen O’Connor.